Restaurant Review – Los Danzantes

Since arriving back in August, our eating patterns have changed dramatically! Mexican’s just do things differently! Typically, they have an early and light breakfast when they wake up, followed by ‘almuerzo’ or brunch which is usually a heavier meal; bread, cakes, eggs, hot chocolate etc. Then anytime from 2pm onwards they settle down for the main meal of the day, and then in the evening… well we have no idea!

We are yet to discover what a typical evening meal consists of here, the restaurants can be a little deserted at night or accommodated by tourists and expats. Simon and I usually stick to a light meal in the evening; salads or fruit salads etc.

But, when my parents came to visit we reverted back to the English ‘three meals a day’ routine. Although with my parents, they seem to graze consistently throughout the day, god knows how they stay in shape!?

So when back in Oaxaca we decided to try out some of the finer restaurants on offer, naturally we tried to book Casa Oaxaca which is supposedly one of the best restaurants here, but due to Day of the Dead they were fully booked. Second choice was Los Danzantes, who managed to fit us in for the night of my Mum’s birthday.

Los Danzantes is set in a courtyard off the main pedestrian street; it’s beautifully designed, open-aired with a huge pond and an area to sit and enjoy cocktails before your meal. Due to the low lighting, it was a little tricky to take photos of the food, so I’m afraid its description only!

Skeletons with ponchos at Los Danzantes
Skeletons with ponchos at Los Danzantes

The boys ordered G&T’s to start, whilst my Mum and I went for Campari and tonics, which were huge double measures. We decided to share 2 starters, and I am SO glad we did as they were huge!! I opted for the quesillo and goat’s cheese stuffed santa rellena herb leaf with a green tomato salsa. This huge, subtly flavoured herb leaf was absolutely amazing, and added texture to the soft melting cheese inside and the salsa verde was gently flavoured so didn’t overpower the whole dish.

Simon opted for grilled octopus, which was served with a beetroot and peanut salad and a very hot and smokey macha sauce. Again, the portion was huge, and the octopus was cooked to perfection. We all loved the starters, and the imaginative fusion of flavours was spot on!

Choosing a main was difficult, and I mean really difficult. Everything on the menu sounded so interesting that I wanted to try everything! But as my Dad had so kindly insisted that dinner was on him, I obviously opted for the most expensive dish (and so did my Mum)… the rib-eye steak, served with a wild mushroom ‘stew’ and paprika crusted new potatoes. This was by far one of the best steaks I have tasted (and I’ve spent a month in Argentina)!! The mushrooms were perfectly seasoned with fresh herbs and added a really earthy flavour.

Simon chose the slow cooked pork ribs covered in a mole type sauce and again served with potatoes. The ribs were huge, and very meaty and the sauce was perfectly balanced. And finally, my Dad chose the coconut breaded king prawns, in a sweet/sour sauce with an organic orange salad. The prawns were huge and the sauce was a really unique flavour, that didn’t overpower them.

Too full for desert (sadly, as they all sounded amazing) we settled for coffees and teas. The meal was an amazing end to my parents visit, every part of the meal was fantastic, along with the staff. Not to mention the price, all of this, plus a bottle of lovely red Malbec came to £80 including a tip!! My Dad insisted he would bring my Mum to Oaxaca every year to celeb rate her birthday as it’s cheaper than staying in London!

Leave a comment